Are you Gluten-Sensitive?

Artisan hand made gluten free textIf you live in Los Angeles one of the common phrases you may hear is “I’m gluten-free.” Many go on gluten-free diets thinking it will help them lose weight or solve a health issue.

What does gluten-free really mean?

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, barley and rye products. Most cereals and breads contain gluten. Gluten-containing grains include wheat, barley, bulgur, couscous, matzo, spelt and rye. Some oat products have questionable amounts of gluten.

Examples of gluten-free grains include brown or wild rice, quinoa, millet, buckwheat, sorghum, teff, and amaranth.

Eating gluten-free is a must for those with celiac disease, who face real risks from ingesting gluten. For those with gluten sensitivity, the restriction may not be as critical, but is a way to help control adverse reactions such as headaches or fatigue.

Those with gluten sensitivity may also feel bloated when eating gluten containing products or other diverse symptoms. This is now referred to as non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

There are limited tests that show gluten sensitivity but the best one is your own experiment.

Try going gluten-free for 30 days – if your symptoms go away and you feel a better or have an improved sense of well being you are probably in the gluten sensitive category. If not, there is other reason for your symptoms.

Limiting your intake of gluten means you are cutting out many starchy, refined carbohydrates, which can help your weight and health.

However, eating gluten-free is not carbohydrate-free as many would think. It can be easy to increase your carbohydrates by eating many gluten-free products. If you’re trying to lower your carbohydrate intake, you’ll have to try a different method.

Pros: Essential for a system that does not tolerate gluten and helps reduce health concerns of those who are sensitive.  In addition, because most of the wheat in the United States is full of glyphosate (AKA Roundup which is a strong pesticide) you will be lowering your intake of pesticides which can help your overall system.

Cons: Requires restricting all gluten-containing products, as well as diligent label reading and education. For example, frozen French fries are frequently coated with a dusting of flour.

If you suspect you are gluten sensitive I’m compiled a list of foods and additives that contain or can contain gluten. If is extensive but worth exploring is you suspect sensitivity and/or experiencing health issues and can’t come up with a cause.

List

Acacia, annatto and caramel coloring

Alcohol made from wheat ? beer, ale and some hard liquor

Anything fried/breaded

Barley

Binders

Bouillon cubes

Bulgur

Cellulose gum

Cereals made from gluten-containing grains

Chewing gum

Communion wafers

Couscous

Distilled vinegar

Emulsifiers

Fillers

Flour, self-rising, enriched or wheat

Garlic salt

Hydrolyzed Vegetable protein (HVP)

Hydrolyzed plant protein (HPP)

Imitation crabmeat

Imitation bacon

Instant coffee (Postum)

Kamut

Ketchup

Laxatives

Licorice

Malt or cereal extracts

Malt flavoring

Malt vinegar

Modified Food Starch

MSG

Wheat, wheat products

Oats

Prescription meds that contain fillers

Rye

Soy sauce

Spelt

Stabilizers

Teriyaki sauce

Vegetable broth

Related Articles

  • WHY Learn Motivational Interviewing?

  • Health Doesn’t Have to Be Complicated: 5 Simple Health Hacks

  • Frequency Medicine: A New Approach to Healthcare